Being a woman and being successful

“Some women choose to follow men, and some women choose to follow their dreams. If you’re wondering which way to go, remember that your career will never wake up and tell you that it doesn’t love you anymore.” – Lady Gaga

Because I am a woman, I must make unusual efforts to succeed. If I fail, no one will say, ‘She doesn’t have what it takes.’ They will say, ‘Women don’t have what it takes.’ – Clare Booth Luce

Not sure why I chose a picture of Whoopi Goldberg for an illustration- but it’s pretty good, right? By Annie Liebovitz.

4 Responses to “Being a woman and being successful”

  1. Tweets that mention Being a woman and being successful « My Little Stitches -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Cathy Savels, Rosa Martyn. Rosa Martyn said: A non-embroidered post from me today. Featuring great quotes! https://mylittlestitches.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/being-a-woman/ #feminism […]

  2. byanushka Says:

    The first quote is very good isn’t it? although a career can leave you…there are too many people who work so hard and don’t get that far. (as the second quote says.) I’ve been reading Betty Friedman’s ‘The Feminine Mystique’ – I’m sure you’ve already read it (- ?). It’s brilliant, and interesting, and is proving to be so useful in terms on filling the gaps in my interest and knowlege of women’s and socio-cultural history of the 30s-60s (especially in terms of my signature musings on textiles and dressmaking of this era). How’re you keeping anyway? I’m back in London for the summer, huzzah! (Just trying to find a job now…) xx

  3. schinders Says:

    “i married beneath me. all women do.” – lady nancy astor

  4. Sarah Barnes Says:

    Wow. That first quote is feeling rather relevant to me right now! Thanks for this post x

Leave a Reply

