Life Stitching

Life drawing is fun. Add embroidery into the mix to highlight some details, and it becomes brilliant.

We spent the day life drawing at school today. We didn’t have any professional models, so our tutors did that instead. These drawings are of Nikki, or Nicola Jarvis as the embroidery world know her.

I only used thread on the face, as I thought this was the most important area to work on.

And the back of the piece is quite interesting too.

Tech specs: Charcoal, calico, household thread

2 Responses to “Life Stitching”

  1. Emelia Says:

    I really enjoy your work here! I have been seeking out ways to re-invent my art school drawings using embroidery so I’ve been surfing around the blog-o-sphere to see how others have been doing it. Your work is one of my favorites I’ve found so far. Thanks for posting this!

  2. jafabrit Says:

    I can’t decide which I like the best, the front or the back. I really like what you did🙂

Leave a Reply

