Calling Out Of Context

emilytop

A long time ago now a friend asked me to embroider some ‘swirly words’ on a shirt for her. The shirt in question is a beautiful whisper of a shirt- a little piece of ethereal pastel pink jersey knit. I hadn’t been told what shirt she’d decided on when I agreed. I’d still have agreed if I’d have known, I’d just have warned her it’d take me one million years and the likelihood of me ruining the shirt was quite high. Jersey is a tricky fabric to embroider on at the best of times, due to it stretching you have to be super delicate and you can’t use a hoop. The needle has to be as small as possible and the thread small too, so as not to tug on the weave of the fabric.

As you can see from this, it’s far from perfect:
emilytop2

The words are by Arthur Russell. Oh, Arthur Russell- how we love you.
http://open.spotify.com/track/3sRsI4rRJ6YzZwTUc0d7G7

I give it to her tonight. Because she’s beautiful I shall take a photo of her modelling it for you and you’ll like to see. Till then.

emilytop3

4 Responses to “Calling Out Of Context”

  1. jafabrit Says:

    I think this is lovely, it doesn’t take away from the beauty of the shirt but adds an edge to it that really makes it special and unique.

  2. byanushka Says:

    This is really pretty Rosa, the pink with the golden lighting is especially beautiful. and the words are lovely indeed x

  3. Erin @ SYL: Slipcover Your Life Says:

    So beautiful! Can’t wait to see the pictures of her modeling it!

  4. Alli (One Pearl Button) Says:

    Gorgeous – I love the softness and romance of this.

Leave a Reply

