Back to Earth with a Bang

Remember me? I don’t.

Life got a bit funny, things got a bit hard-The Royal School of Needlework suprised me a little. But I’m ok now. I’m living in a house with internet (this is like a dream!) and I’m happier. Since I’ve got the internet, I’m going to be around more, I promise.

The astute amongst you might notice I’ve changed my header. I’m re-doing this blog now. I’ve finally admitted to myself I’m not as twee as I like to think I am and I’m celebrating that. I wear boots and I swear. It’s fun, especially in the Royal School of Needlework.

This piece has a story or two- it was originally stitched for the NSFW Phat Quarter swap on Flickr. It’s based on a painting of Sappho (doing what she does best, other than writing poems) by Édouard-Henri Avril. I wanted to create something that whilst being NSFW for the easily offended, it’s less something dirty and more something to be celebrated. Sex isn’t bad or disgusting. It’s not something to be shyed away from- it’s beautiful. And so, I give you embroidered cunnilingus:

segsex

I embroidered this in many public places, on many trains- although perhaps I enjoyed this most on the tube train to the Knit and Stitch Show. Sat amongst school friends and a tutor it was a good way to introduce myself. A stranger, also on her way to the show, joined in with the fun and complimented me on my stitching too.
A little while after finishing, and whilst I was saving up the money for postage, my Mother laid her greedy eyes upon it and fell in love. After pleading me and guilt tripping me with such lines as “You wouldn’t be eating if it wasn’t for me. YOU WOULDN’T EVEN BE ALIVE IF IT WASN’T FOR ME!” I relented and agreed to give it to her and Dad for Christmas. And I wonder why I turned out weird. I’ve now got to make something else to send to Jojobooster, and I hope she forgives me.

Technical aspects:
Stitched on a pre stitched pillow case I bought from a charity shop, I only did the women and the ‘Sappho’. When have I ever bothered to stitch a flower? I matched the colours, in more ways than one. It’s a quilted piece and done in chain and backstitch.

I’ll leave you with that for a little while.

7 Responses to “Back to Earth with a Bang”

  1. Alli Says:

    It’s good to see you back again! I hope that all is well at school. Your Sappho embroidery is really lovely.

  2. schinders Says:

    like the new header and love your nsfw work for the swap, very jealous of jojobooster and your parents. did you see the one i did?

  3. rugosa Says:

    i did! i loved the font you used for ‘WANTED’ et al.

  4. Jo Ashcroft Says:

    I am so jealous of your mom, Rosa, as this is absolutely beautiful.

    I am so OK with not receiving this from you. I know how important moms are! Especially ones who are helping with fees!

    I am, however, so looking forward to receiving something from you, even if I have to wait a while!

    lots of love

    Jojobooster
    xx

  5. jafagirls Says:

    ha ha, I like your mother🙂 and I love your work and attitude. I wear boots and swear but I am older and a gringro granny🙂

    cheers
    jafabrit in ohio

  6. Beefranck Says:

    This is superb.🙂

  7. Disobedient Child Says:

    This is beautiful, as is the painting. OK I thought you’d done the flowers too, as it all fits together perfectly. Thanks for sharing🙂 Your mother sounds a hoot😉

Leave a Reply

