Pretty Things

I love charity shops. You never know when you’re going to find something truly magical in them.

Earlier in the week, I popped into my local, in the hope of finding a nice hat or cardy, and instead I found a stunning vanity mirror. It’s a beautiful shape and has lovely stitch detail for decoration. Yum!

Then this morning I found myself in a Sue Ryder care, and I happened across these two needlepoint pieces in octagonal frames. There’s a lady in pink, and then her counterpart, a gentleman in blue. Can’t wait to hang these on my wall!

In that same shop, I also found a perfectly simple clear glass cake stand. It’s been put to good use already, of course, supporting a vegan crumb cake.

In other news, I’ve been offered a place at London College of Communication to study Surface Design in September, provided I get a merit in my foundation year. I’m going to be such a small little fish in a huge pond.

Can’t get enough of me? Follow me on twitter.

2 Responses to “Pretty Things”

  1. byanushka Says:

    your finds are lovely – but your uni update is amazing!!!! well done, i’m so so pleased for you!! obviously they’ve all fallen for your talent. this is so fantastic.
    xox

  2. Sarah Says:

    I have been seeing that woman in pink everywhere lately. I think she is following me, and it’s freaking me out a little. My grandmother made a watercolor reproduction of the woman in pink, and left it to me when she died. It took me a long time to find out where the original image came from, so I thought I’d pass the info on.

    Your two needlepoints are based on old paintings called Pinkie and Blue Boy, both housed in the same museum in Southern California.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinkie_(Lawrence_painting)

Leave a Reply

