One-and-twenty button-holes of cherry-coloured silk!

Sometimes I like to think that nothing happens by chance and everything is down to nurture and your entire life depends on what happens in the first ten years or so. But, only sometimes.

This time, I’m thinking about The Tailor of Gloucester. And I’m thinking about how we had an animation of it, and about how the sound of the narrator (who we were led to believe was Beatrix Potter) saying “taffeta” used to send shivers down my spine, and how now every time I heard the word “taffeta” I am filled with a sense of comfort, belonging and love. Then I think – maybe that’s why I chose to do textiles? I have very few other explanations, my mother was never a seamstress, we never cared for fashions or for fine fabrics. So, why not? The entire reason I like textiles now, is The Tailor of Gloucester by Beatrix Potter.

I am exaggerating, of course. But I must say that my mother giving me The Tailor of Gloucester, this time in book form, to me for Christmas, must’ve been one of the best thought out presents ever.

Now, today is the last day of 2008. Two years ago, a friend of mine vomited down my bedroom wall after drinking too much to celebrate the passing of 2006. It was a different wall to the wall relevant to this story, I just like to bring that up occasionally to embarrass him. This wall is stained also, but less with vomit (said wall has been cleaned since) and more with blu-tack thanks to art history revision notes. Anyway, being the lazy person I am- I chose not to give this wall the proper de-blu-tacking treatment, and instead to just paint something distracting over the top.

nomore twist

And, for a reference, the penultimate illustration from The Tailor of Gloucester:

(image via the V&A website)

Tonight I am spending New Years cross stitching Amy Karol’s free holiday giveaway pattern. I am hella excited and eager to get going.

One Response to “One-and-twenty button-holes of cherry-coloured silk!”

  1. With friends like these, who needs anything else? « My Little Stitches Says:

    […] you before). I’ve turned the mouse into a brooch and I’ve been having fun acting out The Tailor of Gloucester with the two of them. A friend from college gave me […]

Leave a Reply

