Petty Perfectionism

I kill myself sometimes. I just can’t help it- if I do something for someone else, it has to be the absolute best I can do. It has to be original and exciting and everything has to fit together. It is for this reason that I should definitely not ever undertake big projects. But I do.

My Beau is a self confessed computer nerd. He loves it all, but especially retro arcade games. And his favourite? Pac-man. So I think “Hey! Y’know what? I could make him a pac-man quilt. He’d love that.” And I mill the idea over for a while- thinking of the ways to do it, but I mill it for too long.. and suddenly I notice this is far from an original idea. There are pac-man quilts all over craftster. Gutted, I think of a way to make it exciting, make it my own. And boy, I wish I’d never come up with one. But I did. Why not make it so you can move the characters around- like a real pacman game? I’ll tell you why not. Because this takes forever. Because this is impossible. Because sewing on that many buttons is enough to drive anyone mad. Because finding a place that can sell you 80+ of the perfect kind of buttons is impossible, so you have to make your own out of fimo, only the shop doesn’t have enough yellow fimo so you have to buy super sculpey and paint them all. Because all those materials and threads and notions soon chalk up a huge bill. But, I love punishment, and I love my Beau. So I did it anyway.

Here’s a poor quality full on snap of said quilt

pacman quilt

And some deets.

pacmanquilt2

pacman felt toys

pacman dead ghosts

But, he loved it. And he was worth it. And I guess I kind of feel proud of myself.

We made a gif of it in game form this weekend.

5 Responses to “Petty Perfectionism”

  1. riotflower Says:

    That is FANTASTIC and definitely something to be proud of!

  2. Anushka Says:

    oh, my goodness!!!!!!
    bloody amazing!

  3. Mr Little Stitches Says:

    Not only does it look amazing, but it’s REALLY comfy. Mmmm.
    🙂

  4. Quilt para jugar al Pac-Man (ComeCocos) Says:

    […] España. La autora del blog ‘My Little Stitches’ ha cosido una versión del juego en un quilt como regalo para su […]

  5. sweetbird Says:

    That is quite possibly the coolest thing I’ve ever seen in my life.

Leave a Reply

