Presents from Australia

On Cut Out and Keep, on the forum, we often have craft swaps. They’re on craftster too, but I find on cut out and keep they’re a more manageable, personal scale so I like to participate often on the cut out and keep ones.

Today I completed a swap package and sent it off to Knittin’ Kitten, but I shan’t post that until I have word she’s received. No spoilers! Instead I’ll show you what I sent to Shivi, a darling little girl in Australia a few months ago.

The theme of the swap between Shivi and I was a very open one- we’d give three things that we liked, and three colours. She gave me Alice in Wonderland (Disney), Kawaii and Vintage Floral. She also said she didn’t mind about the colours, provided there wasn’t too much pink or dark blue. So! Here’s what I made for her:

Here’s a little needle felted Needlebook, following the Kawaii theme. The font is (I hope) Japanese for strawberry, although I’m sure I went wrong somewhere along the line.

Here’s a waist-pinny for the vintage floral. I messaged her before asking her for examples of vintage floral patterns she liked. I’m glad I did, if I’d have followed what I had in my mind I’d have used fabric that looks rather more like wallpaper and curtains with large cascading flowers on it, but she wanted something far more demure. I gave her a pocket because every pinny deserves a pocket.

But I like to think I’ve saved the best till last. She asked for Disney Alice in Wonderland, but I misread the situation and thought she meant either Disney or Alice in Wonderland. I often forget there was a Disney version of Alice in Wonderland, since the Tenniel illustrations and the book itself is so completely magical, there’s no room in my heart for any Disney. I started stitching her this piece, and half way through I worked out what she had probably meant. Being stubborn, I chose to ignore it. I know, I know it’s bad but! Tenniel’s illustrations were so beautiful, and the quote was so perfect! Shivi is at the age of that awful time at school when everyone’s telling you to plan out your life and plan out your career. If I’d have done that, then I’d probably be preparing to study history at degree level, and even more likely- desperately unhappy. Instead I followed my own feet and, although currently am doing nothing worthwhile, I’m perfectly content. I hoped that Shivi would have the success that I did, and thought I’d give her this quote to poke her in the right ‘direction’.

Then I made it into a cushion.

It was received very well I am pleased to report, and she sent me a super little package in return. Thankyou Shivi!

2 Responses to “Presents from Australia”

  1. Anushka Says:

    what lovely gifts. i love the alice cushion, and am with you on the disney front (ugh! disgusting stuff.) i love cushions. the moment i get my own grotty student flat i shall be creating them with abandon. beautiful work, as usual.

  2. Audrey Says:

    beautiful work, love Alice so much

    just thought you’d like to know, your Japanese is correct, its pronounced “ichigo”

Leave a Reply

