Busy summer

For some reason, I appear to be busier than when I was at college. I’m sure this isn’t the case, I just appear to have sent myself a whole heap of impossible tasks.

In the meantime, I’ll tell you about the meantime.

Fuchsia, one of my best friends, came to visit me, all the way over from Killaloe in southern Ireland. She came mainly for Truck Festival, but she came earlier on in the week so we could have some fun together. And fun we did have! We spent the first day making a cake, for Honor’s visit. Honor, coming from Dublin, was coming to Truck too, so we used my house as a stop off for her. This is what her welcome cake looked like:

It’s a Devil’s Food Cake, filled with whipped cream and strawberries, topped with whipped cream and raspberries. There’s an almost ganache on it too, but that went a bit wrong, so we just ate it. Chocolate and cream. Mmm.

Then we went out for a day trip to London, and after being asked if we were the Spice Girls, we found ourselves in the East End Thrift Store, as reviewed by Anushka. I vowed not to buy anything, since I’m refining my wardrobe an’ all, but then I saw the most darling lemon yellow 1960s style shift dress. I bought it after convincing myself that when wearing it, people would call me ‘Lemon Sherbet’. Alas, so far anything beyond ‘Rosa’ has just been ‘Moustache girl’. (All in good fun, y’understand.)

Then, we took a trip to Oxford Circus, because none of us had ever been, and you ought to once, you know? Primark was horrible, but that was to be expected. Selfridges however, was a delight. Not because of the shop, but because of the darling little art gallery on the Lower Ground Floor. To be honest, the best thing about the entire art gallery was a comment on how children in war torn children have to play in bunkers by Jeni Snell. Unfortunately this was presented in bouncy castle form, and the concept was soon lost between squeals of girly fun. Fuchsia took a fantastic photograph that displays the emotions beautifully:

art gallery funnn

Leave a Reply

