I heart big prints

This weekend we had a little visitor to our garden. It was this beautiful field mouse

Unfortunately he had a little broken hind leg and was quite ill, so he died at the end of the night. In the meantime we fed him tasty morsels of pumpkin and sunflower seeds and we gave him water to drink, soaked in kitchen towels. I sat with him as he died so he didn’t feel alone.

Today I had an Art History exam retake, ‘Ways of Seeing’, from my AS year. In the paper we have two pictures of paintings to choose from, we have to describe and discuss the stylistic features, the way the subject is represented and the use of colour, etc, and then we have two pieces of sculpture to choose from and do the same to, and lastly two pieces of architecture.

It should be a piece of cake, but last year it came out as my lowest scoring module. I’m still not sure how. Anyway, last night whilst I should have been revising, I instead made a pinafore shirt out of some fabric patterned with snails and pheasants and other examples of British wildlife, that I stole from College. The photograph makes it look like it sticks out at odd angles- it doesn’t. You also can’t see the cute bow at the back (that covers up a mistake in my stitching *ahem*) but you get the idea:

And yes, those are my Art History revision notes in the background. Oh Botticelli, you and your mythological paintings.
Today I went to Swindon College to see their showcase exhibition for Foundation Art (what I’m doing next year) and on the way I went to Gorse Hill (which is a bit out of the way) to go Charity Shop Shopping. There’s one in particular that sells fantastic bedsheets and things, and I went so I could buy some fun fabric and make more fun clothes from it. Of course when I arrived they’d shut for lunch. Well, the saying goes ‘when the lord closes a door, he opens a little window’, and it certainly worked out for me today. It drove me further into Gorse Hill and I ended up in my all time favourite charity shop, the Salvation Army Store. This is a great one because if they haven’t sold something after two weeks they mark it down to 50p and you can walk out with arm fulls of bargains. Most of it’s hideous, but gloriously hideous. It also smells like something’s died, but I can get over this for the bargains.

I never get fabric from there. Their bedsheets are normally really horrible, but today, oh today! I found some fabulous curtains. Not to everyone’s taste, and certainly not to my mother’s, but these beauties came straight from the seventies (and probably should’ve stayed there).

I got two of them for 50p! They’re about a meter and a half in width and a lot more in depth. This is a detail shot, the clowns (mimes?) themselves are only about five inches in height. I use the word “only” loosely.

I think I’m going to make a high waisted/pinafore skirt from these. Gotta love pinafores.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “I heart big prints”

  1. Holandricon Says:

    That clown is Pierot, isn’t it? I love the story of Pierot, he went out at midnight every night to meet Pierette and they vowed to run away and get married and then one night she didn’t come, and he went out every single night to meet her, but she never came back. Thats not the whole story, its longer and much more french, haha. In any case that material is GREAT its like the way hawaiian shirts are GREAT but make you grimace a bit.
    Saw you on craftster, you asked me about foundation years, so I thought I’d reply to you, if not a bit late, my appologies!

  2. mylittlestitches Says:

    Ah, thankyou for your reply!

    I’ve got all excited about my foundation year now my A levels are coming to a close. I had a bit of a dance the other day when I remembered I was going to be able to spend all of next year creating. Eeeeh!

  3. maybelles mom (feeding maybelle) Says:

    Lovely fabric…and oh Botticelli… no Perugino, but alas.

Leave a Reply

