IWD Post #2 : Shackles in Silk?

So, at the Carnival Conference, I presented a talk and a stitch workshop. The talk was based in how Mary Wollstonecraft described embroidery as “the silken fetters that keep women in chains” and how I disagreed with this point of view. I wanted to illustrate the power that could be found in sewing circles or in quilting bees, so I laid out a large woollen blanket and thick woollen threads and got the participants to sit around it and stitch whatever they fancied on the blanket. The point was to get them all to talk to one another, share experiences and the like, that sewing was to become secondary: a reason why we’re all together but then make bonds of our own.

stitchworkshops1

It was the first time I’ve ever done anything like this, and I think it went really well. I got positive feedback and I definitely want to do it again. It was a really nice space to have in the conference, away from the academia and just a focus on us.

stitchworkshop2

The varying things that people did were really interesting. From words, to simple pictures, cobwebs, french knots, one participant even stitched the outline of her hand.

stitchworkshop3

The blanket was later exhibited at a party that night. The fantastic ‘Lashings of Ginger Beer‘, a radical feminist queer burlesque troupe, used the blanket as a makeshift changing room throughout their set. Pretty proud of myself!

4 Responses to “IWD Post #2 : Shackles in Silk?”

  1. Helen Says:

    I was so excited when this came up on my blog reader! I was at the workshop and was meaning to find your blog but it seems I already follow it!

    It was a great workshop, thanks :)

  2. schinders Says:

    super cool! you should absolutely be proud!

  3. rugosa Says:

    Thankyou so much for coming Helen! I’m really glad you enjoyed it and also honoured that you already follow my blog! Small world after all!

  4. Ann Says:

    This was an amazing workshop, by all accounts, and I am so sorry not have been able to participate. Thanks, Ann.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

