I’m a free bitch, baby.

I uh, decided to embroider a stumpwork portrait of Lady Gaga.

I found an unfinished mirror frame in the V&A, it was started by Martha Eldin in the mid to late 17th Century, she did a lot of it but she hadn’t quite finished it. On the frame, was a drawing that was yet to be filled in of Hagar. I can’t find a photograph of her to show you, I’ll sort it out soon. She was standing all strong and proud, so I decided to base my Lady Gaga around her.

gaga1

Obviously, she had to have exploding tits.

gaga2

gaga3

Her weird monster shoes, and her bodice too (although that’s now mostly covered with the flag) are needlewoven. The shoes were hell, tiny weeny stitches with a tiny weeny thread.

gaga4

I made her a little microphone out of fimo and a thread wrapped wire hand to hold it in.

gaga5

That is my hair there – I cut it off in a hungover state about a year ago and kept it all this time, waiting for it to become useful. And now it has! I covered it in glue and wrapped it around thick needles to get the curls, then I couched it down.

I am way too tired to explain anymore. Le sigh! Royal School of Needlework, you wear me out.

12 Responses to “I’m a free bitch, baby.”

  1. Tweets that mention I’m a free bitch, baby. « My Little Stitches -- Topsy.com Says:

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by T. Baron O'Daighre, Rosa. Rosa said: So I embroidered Lady Gaga in a style from the 1600s: http://mylittlestitches.wordpress.com/2010/11/28/im-a-free-bitch-baby/ [...]

  2. schinders Says:

    i bow before you. this work is so so stunning! you are truly amazing, my dear.

  3. christy Says:

    Awesome work…… though I always thought the lyric was ‘I’m a freak bitch, baby’. :)

  4. Massive stitches (in comparison) Says:

    Yet again you make me jealous of your talent. Truly bloody awesome.

  5. Inspiration: Rosa Martyn · Needlework News | CraftGossip.com Says:

    [...] Martyn created this stumpwork portrait of Lady Gaga. Wow. Get the details and see more photos at her My Little Stitches blog post. (Be sure to check out the close-up of the needlewoven [...]

  6. an earlier prototype Says:

    Brilliant. Just brilliant.

  7. Stumpwork Portrait of Lady Gaga | roxannep01 Says:

    [...] of My Little Stitches created this fab stumpwork portrait of Lady Gaga. The details are fantastic, right down to a tiny Fimo microphone and fishnet stockings. Rosa even [...]

  8. Janet Says:

    Very cool.

  9. Theresa Says:

    Just amazing. I don’t have words!

  10. Laura Eastwood Says:

    This is awesome. Super awesome.

  11. Lauren Says:

    This is really wonderful! Pure awesomeness.

  12. Eva Says:

    Lady Gaga would totally digg this portrait! Have you thought about sending her a photo? ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

